Learning Resources

REGARDS-Sepsis Principle Investigator

Henry Wang MD, MS, MPH
Associate Professor and Vice Chair of Research
Department of Emergency Medicine
UAB School of Medicine

REGARDS-Sepsis Co-investigators

George Howard, DrPH
Professor and Chair
Department of Biostatistics
UAB School of Public Health

Monika Safford, MD
Division of Preventive Medicine
UAB School of Medicine

Russell Griffin, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Epidemiology
UAB School of Public Health

Nathan Shapiro, MD, MPH
Associate Professor and Vice Chair of Research
Department of Emergency Medicine
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Harvard Medical School

Core Staff

UAB Department of Emergency Medicine:

  • Joel Rodgers, MA, Program Manager

  • Jordan Morgan, MPH, Program Coordinator

  • Hallie Blunck, MD, Research Assistant

  • Mary Beth Epps, MPH, Research Assistant

  • Bonnie Browne, BS, Student Research Assistant

  • Daniel Lloyd, BS, Student Research Assistant

  • Abena Afriyie, BS, Student Research Assistant

  • John Donnelly, BS, Student Research Assistant

UAB Department of Medicine, Division of Preventive Medicine:

  • David Rhodes, MPH, Director of Operations (REGARDS Study)

  • Sharon Jackson, Clinical Trials Specialist

  • Yvonne Storey, Data Information Coordinator 


Contact Information

Mailing Address: University of Alabama School of Medicine
Department of Emergency Medicine
619 19th Street South, OHB 251
Birmingham, AL 35249
Telephone: 205.996.7386
Fax: 205.975.5053
Email: hwang@uabmc.edu or jrodgers@uabmc.edu



We appreciate the dedicated and hard work from the following individuals who have assisted with the success of the REGARDS-Sepsis study.

Dylan Addis
Bryant Allen, MD
Adam Blakeney
John Mark Chestnut, MD
Austen Christen
Jason Crowell
Diana Dean
Randolph Devereaux, PhD, MSPH
Tiffany Gaither
Kelsey Harnish
Victoria Hartley
Seth Jarrell
Suzanne Judd, PhD
Andy Kuklinski
Alan Lucas, MD
Paul Muntner, PhD
Sohil Makwana, MD
Rhonda McDavid
Kristina Osborn, MD
Holland Pierce
Stephen Powell
Mollie Scheib
Sara Singhal
Jason Skelley
Albert “Sonny” Sledge, MD
Buck Smith
Katie Smyrski, MPH
Ross Steinhilber
Sean Vanlandingham
David Warnock, MD
Born Zheng, MD